I’m in love with this question! As first, I was cursing myself for agreeing to teach summer school and deciding to go back to school. I have to say, it was the smartest thing I have done. I am not just learning about digital literacy, I’m living it. I have a supportive team of teachers that I am working with and an administrator that understands the needs of our students. I have thought about Ian’s discussion in class about being not only a consumer of the Internet, but also creating content and developing an online learning community. I believed that I was mostly a consumer, and that is what I brought across to the students. After being enlightened, I am striving to assure multiple experiences (although they are baby steps) in creating digital media.

The eleven students I work with have begun the laborious task of creating their own iBooks using the Book Creator app. We have gone online to view the importance of stories having a beginning, middle and end by viewing tesconnect video tutorial. The curriculum standard ensures students to be able to describe the overall structure of a story, including describing how the beginning introduces the story and the ending concludes the action (CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.2.5). Students have been identifying story elements and structure and then working toward writing to develop, revise and publish his/her own work. Much easier typed than done, but I hope to be able to share examples of the student work when finished.

Another example of using the Internet as text is with the study of informational text. Students are working on knowing and using various text features (e.g., captions, bold print, subheadings, glossaries, indexes, electronic menus, icons) to locate key facts or information in a text efficiently (CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RI.2.5). We started the week off by reading an informational text called Heat Waves by Scholastic. This is a limited text, so supplementing with information from the Internet was imperative. I used the Smartboard to show the students weather.com and have them see the characteristics they read about in a different type of text. Students were able to experience using icons and electronic menus in order to navigate, read and comprehend how the heat wave was impacting them. They were also able to get a global looking at additional maps and searching for other areas around the globe. I also used the Kindle Cloud Reader to be able to share the text Heat Wave by Eilen Spinelli. This took the students from informational, to literary to digital news media. The students have a sincere understanding of heat waves, and have experienced living it, as well.

