As a two-year IT&DML student, I feel blessed that I have the opportunity to take one class at a time. The micro-talk assignment was another high quality assessment of our learning in a professional setting. Each reading that we have had for our class has empowered me as a teacher, coach and consultant. I feel that using the jigsaw approach to learning all about these different resources is an effective use of our time and ability to collaborate with peers. We ask students to work on projects in similar fashion, and now have first hand experience in the process and outcome.

When the list first came out, I was hoping to be able to explore the ePals program. I have worked with teachers who have implemented small projects using this resource, and I wanted the opportunity to dig a little deeper. Unfortunately, Nancy called it first! šŸ™‚ This, however, lead me to chosing the Hartford Courant’s NIE program. I was so pleasantly surprised to explore this site to find high quality lessons and ways to connect global issues and topics into current curriculum. There are many ways to differentiate the lessons provided, and very easy to use/implement across the disciplines.

The use of the technology to create a screencast using Screencast-O-MaticĀ has always caused some angst with me as an educator. It’s a performance that will forever be out there is cyberspace. These assignments are a learning process in which we need to improve and grow. The challenges we are faced with continue to assist in building our “street cred” among colleagues and students.

I would like to thank my classmates for taking the time to comment on my micro-talk. I appreciate your input on the professionalism of the screencast (I’ve learned to write a script instead of narrating on the fly) and also Laura’s input on the little known secrets of the News in Education program that the Hartford Courant offers. The amount of information that was provided on IREX, change.org, National Geographic, ePals, iEarn, PBS, Global SchoolNet, Global Nomads and the National Endowment for the Humanities is priceless. This cohort has created the beginnings of a tremendous professional development database that can be shared throughout the districts in which we work. I appreciate all that my classmates and instructional leaders offer to the experience of the sixth year program. Thank you all for all of your hard work!

